Thanks for visiting!

This project is now in update mode. Check back regularly to see how things are progressing.

David Clewell Visiting Writers Series

David Clewell Visiting Writers Series Image
Raised toward our $15,000 Goal
42 Donors
Project has ended
Project ended on May 31, at 11:59 PM CDT
Project Owners

Support the David Clewell Visiting Writers Series

The Webster University Visiting Writers Series, founded by longtime poetry professor David Clewell in 1986, brings nationally and internationally renowned poets, fiction writers, and essayists to campus for readings each semester. Among our past visitors are Poets Laureate, National Book Award winners, Pulitzer Prize winners, Story Prize winners, and Booker Prize winners like Billy Collins, Philip Levine, Elizabeth McCracken, Naomi Shihab Nye, Lucia Perillo, George Saunders, and C.K. Williams.

The series will be renamed the David Clewell Visiting Writers Series at Webster University, in honor of our beloved teacher, friend, and colleague, who died in 2020. Your gift will ensure the growth of the series as we bring the next generations of writers to meet with our students and community here at the Webster Groves campus.

David Clewell